Howl’s Moving Castle

I and the girls have always liked animation movies. We watched most Disney movies. One time, we watched Spirited Away and got blown away by its quirkiness. This is how I came to know Ghibli. The girls, being die-hard fans, have watched a lot more. But I don’t really have time to watch them.

Having visited Ghibli Museum while in Japan, I fell in love with the art and effort, they put into making the movies. So, I decided that we would try to watch every one of their movies!

Yesterday, we chose Howl’s moving castle. Like the other Ghibli movies, it is unlike any other animation movie. The storyline is so unpredictable. It has a great ensemble of characters who are very unique – my favorites are Turnip and Markl 🙂

This one also has many additional bonuses.

First, it has so many beautiful sceneries. I am particularly stunned by the scene when Howl gave Sophie a gift – a door that leads to a beautiful house by the lake, surrounded by hills full of wildflowers. I often dreamed about this type of scenery…and Ghibli put my dream into a very nice visualization. Unfortunately I cant put the picture here due to copyright, but if you search you will definitely find the scene.

Second, it has so many memorable lines.

“They Say That The Best Blaze Burns The Brightest When Circumstances Are At Their Worst.”

Sophie

There You Are Sweetheart, Sorry I’m Late, I Was Looking Everywhere For You

Howl

A Heart’s A Heavy Burden

Sophie

Finally – spoiler alert! It has a very nice ending 😉

If you love anime and have some time to spend – go and watch this one. You will love it.

Leave a comment